Now Biden advocates for India to get a permanent seat in the Security Council

Washington. India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to America was special in many ways. With this visit, the stand of US President Joe Biden administration has also become clear regarding India’s claim to the permanent seat of the UN Security Council. Following the footsteps of former President George W Bush, Barack Obama and Donald Trump, Joe Biden has advocated for India’s permanent membership in the United Nations Security Council.

India’s Foreign Secretary Harsh Vardhan Shringla said that not only America, but all quad member countries agree on this. Apart from this, there are many other countries, who want to see India as a permanent member of the Security Council.

Corona, Terrorism, Democracy, United Nations… Big things of PM Modi’s address at UNGA

Maritime boundary was discussed for the first time in UNSC
Shringla said that after India got permanent membership, new issues were discussed in the UNSC. In the last meeting of the Security Council, Prime Minister Narendra Modi raised the issue of maritime security. For the first time an Indian Prime Minister gave an address at the UNSC. A successful debate on maritime security was held in the meeting.

India has been a non-permanent member of the Security Council from time to time
India has been a non-permanent member of the Security Council 7 times during 1950–1951, 1967–1968, 1972–1973, 1977–1978, 1984–1985, 1991–1992 and 2011–2012. India’s eighth term has started on 1 January 2021, which will last till 31 December 2023.

China stunned before the Quad meeting in America, said – it will not get any support

What is the system in UNSC?
The UN Security Council consists of 15 member states. America, China, France, Russia and Britain are included in the 5 permanent countries. The 10 temporary countries change every 2 years. 193 countries elect these 10 countries through voting. At present, Gabon, Ghana, UAE, Albania, Brazil, India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway are provisional countries of the UNSC. In this, Albania is the only member country that has never been a member of the Security Council before. (with agency input)

Read Hindi News see more online Live TV News18 Hindi website. Know related to country and abroad and your state, Bollywood, sports world, business News in Hindi.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart